ALLY Energy Names 2022 GRIT Awards & Best Energy Workplace Winners

Written by:


The leading industry resource for diverse talent, careers, and culture celebrates top leaders, teams, and companies powering our world and the energy transition

ALLY Energy is proud to announce this year's winners for the 6th Annual GRIT Awards and Best Energy Workplaces.  The awards are regarded by many as the most prestigious, significant recognition in the energy industry worldwide.  The 54 winners were selected from shortlisted finalists that included 75 leaders, 21 teams, and 15 companies with representation across the globe in oil and gas, power and utilities, wind, solar, hydrogen, nuclear, climate tech startups, and academia. 

This year ALLY Energy honored for the first time ever, four Lifetime Achievement Award winners. Winners have demonstrated a distinguished career championing change in energy and climate in the private or public sector in the areas of technology, policy, and workforce.

  • Honorable Sylvester Turner, Mayor, City of Houston
  • Elizabeth Gerbel, Chief Executive Officer, EAG
  • Lorenzo Simonelli, Chief Executive Officer, Baker Hughes
  • Kevin Sagara, Executive Vice President and Group President, Sempra

This year's winners are:

JEDI Award, sponsored by EAG

  • Alycia Ahrens, Shell, Senior Project Engineer
  • Aparna Kakani, Baker Hughes, Director, Technical Product Management
  • Lwanga Yonke, Aera Energy LLC, Process Analyst

ESG/Climate Champions, sponsored by Southwestern Energy 

  • Alexander John Cruz, Baker Hughes, Knowledge Manager, Energy Transition Solutions
  • Rakhi Oli, Flowserve Corporation, Global Strategy Leader

Professionals, sponsored by Baker Hughes

  • Angelique Mesch, Deloitte
  • Arthi Vasudevan, Baker Hughes, Senior Product Manager, Cybersecurity
  • Catalina Leal Isaza, Baker Hughes, Product Quality Director
  • Daniel Klick, Shell, Project Manager
  • Ellen Teresa Scott, Southwestern Energy, Senior HR Business Partner
  • Kim Pinyopusarerk, Callon Petroleum, Sustainability, and Communications Manager
  • Mervin Ekpen Azeta, Schlumberger, Global Flexible Work, and Culture Project Manager
  • Nicole Hart Wagoner, University of Nevada, Reno, Geologist
  • Noureen Faizee, Worley, Strategy Director
  • Oghogho Effiom, Shell, Domestic Gas Business Opportunity Manager
  • Robin Evans, Worley, GID Director
  • Roobi Roobi, Baker Hughes, Training Innovation Specialist
  • Sarah Phillips, Knight Energy Services, Petroleum Engineer Account Manager
  • Smitha Hariharan, Halliburton, Global Head of Sustainability
  • Stefano Mazzoni, Mazzoni Geoscience, Consulting Geoscientist
  • Stephanie Scollard, Wood Mackenzie, Senior Product Owner
  • Tola Oloyede, Total Energies, HR Director
  • Vikrant Lakhanpal, Proline Energy Resources Inc, Petroleum Engineer
  • Zainub Noor, Halliburton, Director, Scouting, and Innovation

GRITTY Girl, sponsored by Ovintiv

  • Abhaya Chopra, University of Houston, Chair of the Energy Coalition


  • Cheya Dunlap, Honeywell, Chief Inclusion and Diversity Officer
  • Gretchen Gillis, Aramco, Senior Geological Consultant
  • Jacinta Williams, ExxonMobil, Guyana Senior Project Manager
  • Kara Branch, Black Girls Do Engineer Corporation, Founder and Chief Executive Officer
  • Kristen Lipski, Halliburton, Vice President, South Central Area
  • Sonya Batchelor, Baker Hughes, Vice President, Strategic Accounts


  • Kelsey Putman Hughes, Sun Wolf Energy, Chief Executive Officer
  • Rita Hansen, Onboard Dynamics LLC, Chief Executive Officer
  • Trevor Best, Syzygy Plasmonics, Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder

Best BRGs & ERGs, sponsored by ChampionX

  • Black Employees and Allies, Marathon Oil
  • Celle D&I, Baker Hughes
  • EmBRace, Woodside Energy
  • Essence, ChampionX
  • FEMINEN, Enbridge
  • Kuumba Network, Worley
  • LatinX Network, Baker Hughes
  • PRIDE @ Work, Baker Hughes
  • PRIDE Network, Halliburton
  • SEED Network, ChampionX
  • Women Adding Value Everywhere, Shell USA

Best Workplaces

  • Aera Energy (4-time winner)
  • Baker Hughes (2-time winner)
  • ChampionX (2-time winner)
  • Enel North America
  • Sunnova Energy International (3-time winner)
  • TGS

Honorable Shalanda Baker, the Director of the Office of Economic Impact and Diversity and Secretarial Advisory on Equity with the United States Department of Energy was this year's keynote speaker.  She was joined by emcees Tom Weirich, Head of Marketing with EDP Renewables North America, and Catherine McLean, CEO of Dylan Green.

"This year's GRIT Awards and Best Energy Workplaces was incredibly competitive and we’re excited to spotlight exceptional talent and culture," said Katie Mehnert, Founder and CEO of ALLY Energy.

The 2023 GRIT Awards and Best Energy Workplaces will be held on Thursday, October 26, 2023, with nominations opening on March 6, 2023.

About ALLY Energy™ and the GRIT Awards

ALLY Energy is the leading energy and climate talent community and marketplace that accelerates connections, careers, and skills for a just energy transition. The community includes professionals, leaders, entrepreneurs, and students in 120 countries in nearly 3,000 companies across energy in oil and natural gas, utilities, renewables, and climate technology. ALLY is an inaugural member of Greentown Labs, North America's largest climate technology incubator for high-growth companies. The GRIT Awards and Best Energy Workplaces is the only of its kind annual energy workforce recognition program that uses bias-reduction technology to assess winners.

Media Contact

For all inquiries, please contact Laura Pennino, Pennino & Partners,






Related Posts